admin

About admin

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far admin has created 11 blog entries.

Café Happenings!

Click here for a guide to the stimulating “Nooner” cultural programs we offer in that relaxed, comfortable, sunlit space. “Book Talk” “Music With Sandy” “The Art Scene” The programs are informal and brief, typically 45 minutes long. And the coffee and tea are on the house.

Orhan’s Inheritance – Paola’s Pick

by Aline Ohanesian This novel is a powerful work of historical fiction set in Turkey that explores family secrets, human resilience, and the silent victims of the Armenian genocide.

The Grapes of Wrath

by John Steinbeck Got an opinion on what’s THE GREAT AMERICAN NOVEL? If you do, I’d love to hear it…email me at sputnam@dillonlibrary.org Early on, mid-19th century, Hawthorne’s poetic Scarlet Letter was the consensus pick, followed in later decades by Moby Dick or Huck Finn depending on readers’ preference for psycho drama or humor. During [...]

The Story of Arthur Truluv – Marie’s Pick

by Elizabeth Berg Arthur Truluv is a lonely widower who frequently visits his wife's grave.  On one of his visits he meets a troubled teenager and they  form a bond of friendhsip.  This book is charming and life-affirming and sure to make your day.  

Gold Dust Woman : The Biography of Stevie Nicks – Arthur’s Pick

by Stephen Davis This biography offers a captivating portrait of the singer and songwriters who was pat of Fleetwood Mac and who also had a flourishing solo career.  It is a candid tale of her experiences in the rock-and-roll lifestyle  of the 1970s and 1980s.

Bunny Mellon: The Life of an American Style Legend – Tia’s Pick

by Meryl Gordon Bunny Mellon was born to great privilege and wealth.  She was a style icon, friend to the powerful, and  the designer of the White House Rose Garden.  This biography show how this talented woman experienced the people, places, and events of the twentieth century.  

Grocery: The Buying and Selling of Food in America – Eric’s Pick

by Michael Ruhlman Once you read Michael Ruhlman's book Grocery: The Buying and Selling of Food in America, you'll get a better understanding of the market forces that influence our decisions there. Inspired by his father's love of supermarkets, Ruhlman follows food from its origins on its journey to the market, the shopper's cart and [...]

The Taking of K-129: How the CIA Used Howard Hughes to Steal a Russian Sub in the Most Daring Covert Operation in History – Marie’s Pick

by Josh Dean This book is nonfiction but reads like fiction. This incredible true story of Cold War espionage and a feat of engineering with Howard Hughes thrown in makes for an engaging read.

City of Thieves – Kippie’s Pick

by David Benioff Set during the siege of Leningrad during World War II this captivating novel tells the story of two young men  as they search for a dozen eggs for a wedding cake.  It is a gripping tale of courage, survival, and friendship.  

Beneath a Scarlet Sky – Joan’s Pick

by Mark Sullivan Based on a true story, this historical novel follows an Italian teenager as he joins the German army during World War II and is witness to the Nazi occupation of his country.  It's an epic tale as he decides which side his loyalties lie.  For fans of "The Nightingale" and "All  the Light We Cannot [...]

Top